Top 100 Digital Marketing Influencers 2022

It’s that time of year again. The moment we dive back into Buzzsumo to look at the top 100 digital marketing influencers for 2022. What started as a one-off blog post in 2019 has now become an annual event on the Browser Media blog as we now approach the third anniversary and our 4th edition. So, without further ado, let’s take a look at what has changed in the world of digital marketing influencers over the past 12 months.

For a quick overview of the influencer marketing landscape and how it has evolved over the past 12 months, we returned to Influencer Marketing Hub State of Influencer Marketing Report to discover their 2022 edition. As it has been the case for the past few years, influencer marketing has once again gained momentum and this momentum does not seem to be waning. Over 75% of brands plan to spend some kind of budget on influencer marketing in 2022, while 68% of marketers plan to increase their spending. This once again shows that influencer marketing is still a growing industry and all brands should use it.

Therefore, it is important to identify the best influencers that brands can partner with in the desired industry. Once again I turned to Buzzsumo Influence Reports because that’s usually my starting point when it comes to influencer research.

How do Buzzsumo influencer reports work?

I’m starting to feel like a broken record and have explained these reports in every edition of our Top 100 Influencers lists, however, it’s important to understand where the data comes from. If you want a more detailed look at why Buzzsumo is the perfect tool for content marketers I have already covered it on the blog.

Buzzsumo’s influencer reports highlight top influencers based on multiple search options; their association with a specific search term, whether their biography includes the search term, whether they tweeted articles about a search term, or whether they tweeted articles from a specific site. For this research, I highlighted influencers associated with digital marketing. This will include influencers who have used digital marketing in their bio or those who appear on relevant Twitter lists.

These Twitter accounts are then ranked according to their “influence” on the specific search term. Buzzsumo previously explained that a person’s influence is measured by their impact on the reach of a post or article.

Influencer reports search results can be narrowed down based on many factors such as the type of influencer (business, blogger, influencer), whether they are a journalist or not, their level of activity and location.

For these lists, I’m only focusing on bloggers and influencers, which means all companies have been removed. Therefore, some of the big names such as Econsultancy, Moz and Ahrefs are not included. However, this is the only way the data is manipulated, all data and influencers included were pulled directly from Buzzsumo. Neither I nor anyone else at Browser Media influenced (pardon the pun) any of the posts.

Key Digital Marketing Influencer Statistics for 2022

  • As has been the case in all previous years, the average subscriber count shows that it’s not about having the biggest audience, it’s about having the most engaged. At 83,017, the average number of subscribers among the top 100 fell 7% from a year ago. Again, I’m not saying over 83,000 followers is a small number of followers, but the fact that we’re seeing accounts with millions of followers not on this list shows the importance of having a base engaged subscribers.
  • The way these influencers interact with other people’s content has changed very little over the past 12 months. The average response rate, retweet rate, and URL share rate all saw very little change. Again, this indicates that not only is their own engagement important, but it’s also important to consider how often influencers interact with other accounts.
  • While this doesn’t impact the state of the industry, one thing I wanted to note is that Buzzsumo seems to have changed the way some influencers are listed. Neil Patel, for example, is now listed as a business, hence its omission from the list below. I only noticed Neil because he’s always been in the top 3, however, it’s not unlikely that other big influencers have been listed as companies. For consistency, I have not removed these people, even though they are not companies per se, because I want the data to be as unbiased as possible. While major influencers missing from the list may impact the average number of followers in the top 100, this is unlikely to change the outlook for the industry.

Buzzsumo’s Top 100 Digital Marketing Influencers for 2022

  1. Sorav Jain – @soravjain
  2. Rand Fishkin– @randfish
  3. Eric Engé – @stonetemple
  4. Amber Naslund – @ambercadabra
  5. Mandy Edwards– @memktgservices
  6. Barry Schwartz– @rustybrick
  7. Rahul Wadhawan – @rahul_wadhawan
  8. JJ De la Torre – @delatorrejj
  9. Douglas Karr – @douglaskarr
  10. AJ Gherguich – @seo
  11. Amit Panchal – @amithpanchal
  12. Robert Jones – @exodusanalytics
  13. Dan Knowlton– @dknowlton1
  14. Avinash Kaushik – @avinash
  15. Janet Machuka– @janetmachuka_
  16. Warren Whitlock – @warrenwhitelock
  17. Derek Edmond– @derekedmond
  18. Ciamhie McRory – @ciamhiemc
  19. Ryan Deiss – @ryandeiss
  20. Andrew Hutchinson– @adhutchinson
  21. Bill Sebald– @billsebald
  22. Ammar Mohammad – @ammr
  23. John Lincoln- @johnelincoln
  24. Shashi Bellamkonda – @shashib
  25. Gareth O’Sullivan – @_garethg
  26. Alex Jimenez – @ralexjimenez
  27. Fadhila Brahimi – @fbrahimi
  28. Ian Schäfer – @ischafer
  29. Oli Gardner– @oligardner
  30. André Grill – @andrewgrill
  31. AJ Kohn– @ajkohn
  32. Marc Cortes – @marccortes
  33. Duan Forrester- @duaneforrester
  34. Jon Henshaw– @henshaw
  35. Dr. Marie Haynes – @marie_haynes
  36. Andrew Hickey– @andrewmhickey
  37. Stoney of Geyter – @stoneyd
  38. Paddy Moogan- @paddymoogan
  39. Craig Campbell– @craigcampbell03
  40. Ned James– @ned_james2
  41. Jamie Riddell- @jamieriddell
  42. Geoff Desreumaux – @geoffdx
  43. Jonathan Lacoste – @lacostejonathan
  44. Winston Binch– @winstonbinch
  45. Russman- @mktgmann
  46. Herve Kabla – @hervekabla
  47. Saul Colt – @saucolt
  48. Grant Simmons– @simnet
  49. Atef– @atef
  50. Alex Moss – @alexmoss
  51. Dan Sodergren– @dansodergren
  52. Minter dial – @mdial
  53. Mark Silva – @marksilva
  54. Jerry Daykin– @jdaykin
  55. Jaime Turner- @askjamieturner
  56. Brian Hart– @brianhartpr
  57. Ashwini Dodani – @ashwinidodani
  58. DTong- @dtongsports
  59. Tom Bedecarre – @tombed
  60. Tim Ash – @tim_ash
  61. Erik Huberman – @erikhuberman
  62. Justin Howard- @justyn
  63. Tom Goodwin– @tomfgoodwin
  64. Pete Blackshaw– @pblackshaw
  65. Shama Hyder- @shama
  66. Fili Wiese – @filiwiese
  67. Glen Allsopp- @viperchill
  68. Adam Audette – @audette
  69. Cammi Pham– @cammipham
  70. Julie Joyce– @juliejoyce
  71. Ed Leake– @edleake
  72. Matthew Kobach – @mkobach
  73. Casie Gillette- @casieg
  74. Monica Wright– @monicawright
  75. Dhariana Lozano – @dharilo
  76. Leonard Kim – @mrleonardkim
  77. Nathalie Nahai – @nathalienahai
  78. Denis Yu – @dennisyu
  79. Alex Dominguez – @alex_d_b
  80. Franz Russo- @franzrusso
  81. Shane Barker– @shane_barker
  82. Darren Rowse– @problogger
  83. Gianluca Fiorelli– @gfiorelli1
  84. Joost de Valk – @jdevalk
  85. David Iwanow – @davidiwanow
  86. Matthew Knell – @matthewknell
  87. Clo Willaerts – @bnox
  88. Jeremy Goldman – @jeremarketer
  89. Vincenzo Landino – @vincenzolandino
  90. Dave Edelman– @davidedelman
  91. Scott Gulbransen- @lvgully
  92. Stacey MacNaught – @staceycav
  93. Brent Csutoras – @brentcsutoras
  94. Henneke Duistermaat – @henneked
  95. Danny Sullivan– @dannysullivan
  96. Larry Kim– @larrykim
  97. Muhammad Hisham Abu Al-Qumboz – @abualkomboz
  98. Rebecca Radice- @rebekahradice
  99. Marc Traphagen – @marktraphagen
  100. Jim Sterne– @jimsterne

As always, congratulations to everyone who made the top 100!

** Disclaimer – Browser Media had no influence or impact on this list, it is solely based on Buzzsumo’s Influence Reports. To ensure that the data remains fair and unbiased, there have been no edits from other sources. **